Festival 42; January 17 – 23, 2010

Overland Park, KS

Recognitions (Listed below and as a PDF Here)


Irene Ryan Scholarship

            Lolly Foy – Minnesota State University, Mankato

            Tyler Michaels – Minnesota State University, Moorhead

            1st Alternate:  Corbin Hernandez – Benedictine College

            2nd Alternate:  Bill Grennan – University of Nebraska, Omaha


Best Scene Partner

            Final Round: Brandon Roberts – University of Minnesota Duluth

            SemiFinal Round: Dan Hernandez – St. Ambrose University


Musical Theatre Acting Award

            Final Round:  Sarah Ulloa – St. Ambrose University

            SemiFinal Round:  Jacob January – Wichita State University


Classical Acting Award

            Final Round:  Lolly Foy – Minnesota State University, Mankato

            SemiFinal Round:  Corbin Hernandez – Benedictine College



Stage Directors & Choreographers Directing Fellowship


First Place:  Shannon Cameron, University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Second Place:  Kristen Janke, University of Central Missouri



Ten-Minute Play Semi Finalists


An Old Car by Fonzie Geary, University of Missouri

The Sniper by Dennis Corcoran, St, Louis Community College, Meramec



John Cauble Short Play Semi Finalists


Before the Scaean Gate by Ken Willard, University of Kansas E.A.T.

Daydrive by Dannah Moore, University of Missouri

Eggshells by Cecilia Moerelli, Grand View University


Before the Scaean Gate was selected as the one-act play which will be invited as a full production to the 2011 Regional Festival.



The David Mark Cohen Regional Semi-Finalists


Dogshit Ballet by Feloniz Lovato-Winston, University of Kansas E.A.T.

What Really Happened by Benjamin Smith, University of Kansas E.A.T.





National Award:  Andy Pierce, University Of Missouri, Columbia

Regional Award: Megan Gredensky, Minnesota State University Mankato


National Critics Institute


First Place: Bryan Vandevender, University of Missouri

Second Place: Thomas Hardy, University of Kansas


Theatre Management Challenge


First Place:  Elizabeth Necka, Truman State University

Second Place:  Robin Harman, University of Central Missouri



Stage Management Challenge


First Place:  Danille Brown, Simpson College

Second Place:  Matthew Heapes, University of Missouri



Barbizon Recognitions



First Place:  Erin Muhs, University of  Minnesota-Duluth, Sugar

Honorable Mention: Karen Billingsley, University of Central Missouri, Little Women



First Place: Elizabeth Banks, University of Kansas, Macbeth

Honorable Mention: Alex Rugowski, University of Minnesota-Duluth, The Diviners



First Place: Ben Williams, Emporia State University, Lone Star and Laundry & Bourbon

Honorable Mention: Joshua Rajee, Doane College, Evil Dead: The Musical



Alcone Makeup:


First Place: Erin Gallion, University of South Dakota, Peter Pan

Honorable Mention: Jacquelin Schneider, University of Central Missouri, Little Women


KCACTF National Sound:

First Place: Chet Miller, Doane College, Book of Tink

Honorable Mention: Scott Dahl, University of Minnesota-Duluth, Sausage!



Regional Design Recognitions



First Place: Hannah Carter, Wichita State University, Macbeth

Second Place: Melissa Salts, University of Nebraska at Omaha, The Rover


First Place: Joe Klug, Kansas State University, Polaroid Stories

Second Place: Ben Williams, Emporia State University, Into the Woods


First Place: Jim Gangl, Minnesota State University, Mankato, The Rocky Horror Show

Second Place: Elizabeth Grim, University of Kansas, Electra


First Place: Noah Files, Minot State University, The Tempest

Allied Crafts:

First Place: Nina Escobedo, University of Minnesota-Duluth, Sausage!

Second Place: Megan Noonan, University of Nebraska at Omaha, A Midsummer Night’s Dream


First Place: Darin Kuehler, University of Nebraska at Omaha, Miracle Worker

Second Place: Troy Lewellen, Doane College, Evil Dead: The Musical

Tech Project:

First Place: Eric Harp, Southwest Minnesota State University, Chainmail

Second Place (TIE): Brent Froning, University of Nebraska at Omaha, Miracle Worker

Second Place (TIE): Nate White, UN-Kearney, vacuum forming machine


First Place: Alexander Bridgman, Iowa Western Community College, Medea and Jason

Second Place: Adrian Armstrong, Iowa Western Community College, Evil Dead: The Musical



Outstanding Stage Crew


Iowa State University

North Dakota State University

St. Ambrose University

Team Spirit Award: North Dakota State University

Golden Wrench Award: St. Ambrose University



Golden Handtruck Recipient


Bethany Lutheran College, Jam Jar Sonnets



Gold Medallion Recipient


Tom Woldt, Simpson College



National Faculty Fellow in Directing


Jim Bartruff, Emporia State University



Faculty Road Warriors


Jim Bartruff, Emporia State University

David Crespy, University of Missouri